FemUn Awards

Annual Essay Prizes 

Adela Zamudio Essay Prize

It is our great pleasure to announce the annual Adela Zamudio Prize for the best published article by a member of Feministas Unidas Inc. in the areas of feminist studies, gender studies, queer studies and studies related to works of literature and cinema by female authors.

The rules of the contest are as follows:

  1. The article has to have been published between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020 in a peer-reviewed journal.
  2. The author has to be a member of Feministas Unidas (membership can be paid at the time of submission and ranges from $15 to $25).
  3. The article should be written in Spanish, English, or Portuguese.
  4. Please send a scanned copy of the article as it appeared in the journal (or a link to the article in case of an online publication) and a PDF version that does not contain the author’s name. The scanned copy and the PDF should be sent as attachments to Olga Bezhanova (obezhan@siue.edu) who will then forward the articles to the members of the jury.
  5. Articles submitted for the Prize should be received by September 15, 2021. The winners will receive a year of free membership in Feministas Unidas Inc, a certificate of having won the contest, and a monetary prize of $400 (USD) for the winner and $200 (USD) for the runner-up.

The award will be presented at the 2022 Annual Congress of the MLA in Washington DC  or by mail in case the winners will not be attending the conference. The awarding of the prizes remains at the discretion of the jury. (Award Convocation Pdf).

Past winners of the Adela Zamudio Essay Prize

First Prize:
Thomas Antorino (Loyola University MD) for his essay "Gender and the Question of Modernity in Early Twentieth-Century Spain: De-Essentializing Femininity in Ángela Barco's 'Fémina' (1910)"   

First Prize:
Alejandra Aguilar Dornelles (Albany-SUNY) for her essay “Activismo, literatura y cambio social en el Caribe hispano: aproximación en tres movimientos.” 
Second Prize: Lorraine Ryan (University of Birmingham): “Maternal Identities and Abject Equivalence in Biutiful.”

First Prize: Sharon Keefe-Ugalde
(Texas State University) for her essay: "Las poetas de la generación del 50 y la imaginería indumentaria".
Second Prize: Rebecca M. Bender (Kansas State University) for her essay: "Fashion, Ekphrasis, and the Avant-Garde Novel: Carmen de Burgos's La mujer fantástica (1924)."

Graduate Student Essay Prize Competition  

The Executive Committee of Feministas Unidas Inc., an allied organization of the MLA, is pleased to announce a call for papers for the 18th Annual Feministas Unidas Essay Prize competition for graduate students. This Prize is awarded for an outstanding unpublished essay on feminist scholarship on women in the field of literature, the arts, filmmaking, Transatlantic studies or cultural studies in the areas covered by our organization’s mission: Spanish, Spanish-American, Luso-Brazilian, Afro-Latin American, and U.S. Hispanic Studies.

The purpose of the essay prize is to promote feminist scholarship by those who are entering our profession and are currently graduate students. The selection committee is drawn from officers and members of Feministas Unidas Feministas Unidas Inc. reserves the right not to award the prize in a given year.

Award: $300 and publication of the essay in the the journal Ámbitos Feministas. The author of the winning essay must be a member of Feministas Unidas Inc.  at the time of publication of the essay. Winning essay will receive corresponding editorial comments from competition readers as well as from Letras Femeninas Editors. Essays will be published one year after acceptance.

Eligibility: Graduate students who are current or new members of Feministas Unidas Inc. are eligible to submit their original research for the prize.


  • An unpublished paper
  • Length: 18-25 pages, double-spaced, including notes and works cited
  • Format: MLA style. Prepare the manuscript according to instructions for “Anonymous Submissions”
  • Languages: Spanish or English
  • Deadline for submission: November 30, 2021

Items to be submitted by email to Marta Boris <martab@uidaho.edu>

  • Essay
  • 200-word abstract of the essay
  • Author’s C.V.
  • Submit all materials in the following way: one hard copy and as an e-mail attachment. Please submit essays without names and add a cover page with the title of your work, your name and institutional affiliation. This will help us ensure adequate refereed procedures.

Past winners of the Feministas Unidas Inc. Essay Prize for Graduate Students

  • 2018 Paola Uparella, University of Notre Dam. “Guaman Poma y la güergüenza colonial”.
  • 2017 No winner selected this year.
  • 2016 April Knupp, Arizona State University. “Disability and Illness in Lina Meruane’s Sangre en el ojo: A Disability Theory Approach.”
  • 2016 Lilianne Lugo Herrera, University of Miami."Melancolía y autoexposición: Los perturbados entre lilas de Alejandra Pizarnik y Melancolía y manifestaciones de Lola Arias".
  • 2015 Vera Coleman, Arizona State University-Tempe. "El huso en el centro del universo: el entrelazamiento cuántico en la poesía visual de Cecilia Vicuña".
  • 2014 Francisca Aguiló Mora, University of Miami . "Memory Mambo de Achy Ovejas: bailando al son de lo local en un imaginario post-nacional".
  • 2013 Jennifer Byron, Arizona State University at Tempe.“Wordtoy: La colección de poesía digital de Belén Gaché que desmantela la noción de la literatura tradicional y la etiqueta de la escritura femenina”.
  • 2011 Betsy Dahms."Shamanic Urgency and Two-Way Movement as Writing Style in the Works of Gloria Anzaldúa".
  • 2010 Olena Shkatulo, Indiana University. “Spain, 'Others', and European Modernity in Pardo Bazán's Parisian Travel Narratives.”
  • 2009 Ruth Brown, University of Kentucky. "El activismo local de Maquilapolis: armonizando la mirada femenina con una política de lugar".
  • 2008 Nadina Olmedo, University of Kentucky.“Gótico y género: El viaje decapitado de La mujer desnuda
  • 2007 Janice Breckenridge, Hiram College.“Performing Memory and Identity: Albertina Carri’s Los rubios.”
  • 2006 Debra Faszer-McMahon, UC Irvine.“Women and the Discourse of Underdevelopment in Rosa Chacel’s Memorias de Leticia Valle.."
  • 2005 Emily Hind.“De Rosario Castellanos al Hombre Ilustre, o, entre dicho y hecho hay un problemático pecho”.
  • 2004 Jana Francesca Gutiérrez, Auburn University .“Finally Free: The Female Artist and the City in Dulce Maria Loynaz’s Jardin.”
  • 2003 Amy Bell, Texas Wesleyan University. “Razing Their Voices: Carmen de Burgo’s Subtextual Revisions of the Works of José Zorrilla and Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer.”