The Rhinolophidae is a large family of microchiropteran bats consisting of the two subfamilies Rhinolophinae
(horseshoe bats; one genus, Rhinolophus, 77 species) and Hipposiderinae (Old World leaf-nosed bats;
nine genera, 81 species). These are often classified as two separate families. The two groups have
similar overall distribution patterns, though rhinolophids are absent from Madagascar, and hipposiderids
are absent from Europe, Asia Minor, and Central Asia. Throughout their range members of both
groups are found on many islands.

Return to Menu

Copyright 2012 Charles H. Smith. All rights reserved.